Volition 2014 #7: Somatic

15 May

From now until the Volition performance event on Saturday 17th May we will feature regular pieces about each of the works in progress you will see on the night. These are presented in no particular order so embrace the randomness.

 

‘I began to consider character as both a physical and non- physical entity potentially existing simultaneously.I concentrated on my own Father’s encounter with stroke. The duality of his corporeal experience from able bodied to disabled in a single lifetime resonated with me. Sudden disablement leaves you with real memory and knowing of a previous bodily expression of yourself that no longer exists. I wanted to explore this apparent contradiction of somatic identities, this fractured psychological relationship between how you once were and how you exist presently.
Somatic is the result of this exploration.’

 

Volition artist: Martin Maguire

 

#JOLTVOL

 

Leave a comment